Free · Materials + Labor · No Login

Retaining Wall Cost CalculatorMaterials and labor, by length, height, material, and region

Retaining Wall Cost Calculator
Enter your wall length, height, and material to see a realistic cost range for materials and labor.
Your wall
Measured from the bottom of the footing to the top of the wall.
Check before you dig. Many jurisdictions require a building permit and an engineer-stamped design once a retaining wall exceeds 4 feet in height (measured top of wall to bottom of footing) or supports a surcharge like a slope, driveway, or structure above it. Douglas County, CO's building department states this exact 4 ft threshold; requirements are set locally, so confirm the exact rule with your own building department before you dig.
Drives the labor cost multiplier. Block, gravel, and drain pipe pricing assume national-average retail pricing regardless of region.
  • Low, mid, and high estimate
  • Materials and labor separated
  • 5 wall materials compared
  • No login needed

Retaining wall cost is driven mostly by material and wall face area (length times height), but base gravel, drainage, and a drain pipe add real cost that a bare per-square-foot number misses. The inputs below account for height, material, install method, and your region so the number you see reflects a real wall, not a textbook average.

Last reviewed September 2026

Retaining wall cost estimate

$3,766
30 linear ft, 3 ft, Segmental Concrete Block, National Average
Low
$2,805
$31.16/sq ft
Mid
$3,766
$41.84/sq ft
High
$4,727
$52.52/sq ft
Materials and labor shown separately. Doing the work yourself? Switch install method to DIY to see a materials-only estimate. Contractor bids typically land in the mid-to-high range once labor, base prep, and drainage are added.
Blocks, gravel, and drain pipe This wall needs about 124 blocks, 4.1 cu yd of base and drainage gravel ($143), and 30 ft of drain pipe ($23).
Cost breakdown by category
Low, mid, and high estimate, stacked by category.
Line itemLowMidHigh
Cost-per-square-foot reference
Fully installed cost (materials + labor) by material, national blended average 2025/2026.
MaterialLowMidHigh
What this estimate does not include. Site conditions like sloped access, poor soil, or a hand-carry-only yard can add substantial labor beyond this estimate. Materials-only (DIY) cost is a disclosed modeled 40 percent of installed cost, uniform across materials, not an independently published per-material split (see the source table below). Wall thickness for poured concrete, natural stone, timber, and gabion is a visitor-editable planning default, not a fixed engineered dimension; segmental block count uses a real manufacturer face-coverage figure instead. This estimate also does not include permit fees, geotechnical or engineering fees, excavation spoil removal, or landscaping restoration after the wall is built. Per-material pricing is checked against Angi's and Fixr's 2025/2026 retaining wall cost guides; base depth and embedment figures are checked against Allan Block's own "Proper Embedment Guidelines" article, the drainage-zone width against a different Allan Block source (its Residential Landscape Retaining Wall Guide, since the embedment article does not state one), and block, gravel, and drain pipe prices against live Home Depot pages. Natural stone note: priced against Fixr's own dedicated "Natural Stone" line ($25-75/sq ft), not the wider $20-100 umbrella "Stone" figure both Angi and Fixr also publish for the whole stone category. Engineer threshold note: the 4 ft permit/engineer threshold shown above is Douglas County, CO's own published rule, cross-checked against six other jurisdictions with the same threshold; it is not a single national code, so confirm the exact rule with your own building department. Verify current pricing with your local supplier or contractor before finalizing your budget.

Home Improvement Cost Toolkit

Your numbers save in this browser. Return anytime to see them.✓ Restored from last visit.

Free, no strings

Save your retaining wall cost result

Enter your email and we’ll save it. We’re building the newsletter now. No spam, cancel any time.

Pricing out block, gravel, or drain pipe? Home Depot and Lowe's stock segmental retaining wall block, all-purpose gravel, and perforated drain pipe with pickup or delivery.
Affiliate disclosure: FigureNerd may earn a commission if you use this link. No cost to you. Awin application pending as of this build; link target is the retailer homepage until approved.
Shop retaining wall materials →

How this calculator works

This calculator starts with a per-square-foot installed cost range for your chosen wall material, blended from two 2025/2026 national cost guides, then builds out separate line items for the wall face itself, base and drainage gravel, and a drain pipe. Materials and labor are shown separately for contractor installs; DIY mode shows a materials-only estimate, modeled as 40 percent of the installed cost (see the freshness note below for how that figure is derived). Base gravel scales with your wall length and height (a deeper base is needed above 4 ft, per Allan Block's own installation guidance); drainage gravel and drain pipe scale with wall length and height as well. Region applies a labor-cost multiplier only; block, gravel, and drain pipe pricing are treated as nationally consistent retail costs.

The DIY question: segmental block and timber are the two most common owner-build retaining wall materials, since they stack without mortar or forms. Poured concrete and natural stone (especially mortared or engineered walls) typically require a contractor for the footing, forms, or stonework skill involved.

What drives retaining wall cost the most

Material choice

Material is the single biggest lever on total cost. Timber and gabion sit at the lower end per square foot of wall face. Segmental concrete block and poured concrete sit in the middle. Natural stone has the widest range and can run highest, depending on the stone chosen.

Base prep and drainage

A wall priced only per square foot misses real cost. Every retaining wall needs a compacted gravel base trench (this calculator uses Allan Block's "Proper Embedment Guidelines" article: 2 ft wide, 4 in deep for walls up to 4 ft, 6 in deep above that) and a drainage gravel column behind the wall (a minimum of 12 in of wall rock behind the block, per a different Allan Block source, its Residential Landscape Retaining Wall Guide), plus a drain pipe running the length of the wall at its base to carry water away, per Allan Block's own glossary definition of a drain pipe's purpose (this tool models the pipe at 4 inches in diameter to match the Home Depot product priced below, since Allan Block's own literature does not itself state a diameter).

Height and the engineer threshold

Many jurisdictions require a permit and an engineer-stamped design once a wall exceeds 4 feet, per Douglas County, CO's own building department page (cross-checked against six other jurisdictions using the same threshold today). This calculator flags that threshold but does not block your estimate, since exact rules are set locally.

Bottom line: use this calculator to get the right order of magnitude for your retaining wall budget, then get two or three contractor quotes for your specific site, material, and local permit requirements. The gap between this estimate and your actual quotes tells you where your local market, soil conditions, and engineering requirements have moved the number.

Retaining wall cost sources, checked live 2026-09-26

Per-material pricing: Angi.com, "How Much Does It Cost to Build a Retaining Wall? [2026 Data]" (updated September 15, 2026), and Fixr.com, "Retaining Wall Cost | Cost to Build Retaining Wall" (updated January 31, 2025). Base trench width and depth, and buried-block embedment: Allan Block, "Proper Embedment Guidelines for Retaining Wall Construction". Drainage gravel column width (a minimum of 12 in of wall rock behind the block): a different Allan Block source, its Residential Landscape Retaining Wall Guide (the embedment article above does not state this figure). Drain pipe purpose: Allan Block's own Retaining Wall & Landscape Glossary (this tool models the pipe at 4 inches in diameter to match the Home Depot product below; the glossary does not itself state a diameter). Segmental block face size and count: Home Depot product page, 48 pieces / 34.9 sq ft per pallet, $690.77/pallet, a typical price checked live at one store (Minot, ND) in September 2026. Base and drainage gravel pricing: Angi.com, "What Are Average Gravel Prices? [2026 Data]" (updated July 8, 2026), blending its "Crush and Run" ($20-25/cu yd) and "Crushed Granite" ($25-50/cu yd) bulk pricing, priced by the cubic yard rather than by the bag since Angi's own page notes bulk buying can save 50 percent or more on this volume. Drain pipe pricing: Home Depot product page for Advanced Drainage Systems 4 in. perforated drain pipe ($0.77/ft), same store-price disclosure as the block price above. Natural stone pricing: Fixr's own dedicated "Natural Stone" line item, $25-75/sq ft, from the same Fixr retaining wall cost guide cited above, not the wider $20-100 umbrella "Stone" figure both Angi and Fixr separately publish for the whole stone category. Permit and engineer threshold: Douglas County, CO Building Division, "Retaining Wall", cross-checked against six other jurisdictions with the same 4 ft threshold. Region labor multiplier reused from this site's bathroom remodel and fence cost calculators, calibrated against the JLC/Zonda 2025 Cost vs Value report.

Angi and Fixr publish identical installed cost-per-square-foot ranges for segmental concrete block, timber, and gabion. Poured concrete is single-sourced from Fixr's own dedicated concrete-type breakdown, since Angi does not split poured concrete out from its generic block-inclusive "Concrete" row. Natural stone is priced against Fixr's own dedicated "Natural Stone" line ($25-75/sq ft), not the $20-100 umbrella "Stone" figure both Angi and Fixr separately publish for the whole stone category (granite, natural stone, stone veneer, and limestone combined); the wider umbrella figure is disclosed here rather than used silently. Materials-only (DIY) share is a disclosed modeled 40 percent of installed cost, derived from Angi's own worked example (a 20 ft by 2 ft wall costing $800 to $2,400 installed, with $300 to $2,000 in stated DIY labor savings), not an independently published per-material split.

Building more than one thing at once? See also the Fence Cost Calculator, the Landscaping Material Calculator, and the Deck Cost Calculator for other DIY material estimates.

Estimates are designed for planning purposes based on 2025/2026 national cost-guide data. Actual costs may vary based on your local contractor rates, material availability, site conditions, soil type, and permit or engineering requirements. Consult a licensed retaining wall contractor and your local building department for a binding quote and permit determination. This tool is provided for educational and planning use only and does not constitute professional construction, engineering, or financial advice.